If you have been injured in a motor vehicle accident, you may be entitled to seek financial compensation for medical bills, pain and suffering, and lost wages. Riccio Law represents individuals throughout Massachusetts who have been injured in car, truck, and motorcycle accidents on a contingency fee basis, meaning: all consultations are free and you pay no attorney fees until Riccio Law gets you a settlement or court award.
In Massachusetts, Personal Injury Protection (“PIP”) benefits, also known as no-fault coverage, provides individuals injured in a car accident with coverage up to $8,000.00 for medical bills and lost wages. Regardless of fault, PIP benefits are provided by the insurance policy for the vehicle in which you were a driver or passenger. If you had health insurance at the time of the accident, PIP covers the first $2,000.00 in medical bills and you must submit any additional bills exceeding $2,000.00 to your health insurer for payment. If your health insurer denies payment, PIP is then responsible for the balance (up to $8,000.00) not covered by the insurer.
Although PIP benefits do not apply to motorcycle accidents, you may still be entitled to compensation for lost wages, medical bills, and pain and suffering. Riccio Law has successfully represented individuals injured in motorcycle accidents, including a $72,500.00 settlement after his client received an initial offer for settlement for just over $30,000.00 by the insurance company.
Attorney Anthony Riccio’s prior experience working at a personal injury defense firm in Boston gave him the knowledge of what insurance companies and their attorneys are looking at when defending these claims. This understanding allows Anthony to understand the strengths and weaknesses of an injured person’s case and effectively represent his clients on their claims.
Just a few of Riccio Law’s settlements are listed below. (Keep in mind that our prior results do not guarantee a similar result in every case.)
Do not leave the scene of a crash if you have been involved in a car accident in Massachusetts. Leaving the scene of car accident, motorcycle accident, or truck accident in Massachusetts is a criminal offense and could result in your arrest or being summonsed to court on criminal charges.
Massachusetts laws require that you remain on scene and exchange certain information with the other driver, including your name and contact information, driver’s license number, license plate number, and auto insurance information. While you are not required to immediately call the police, it is recommended that you do so as law enforcement will create a formal incident report, motor vehicle crash report, and possibly conduct an accident reconstruction to help determine fault.
Massachusetts General Laws (M.G.L.) chapter 90 section 26 requires any individual involved in a motor vehicle accident involving death or injury or in which there is damage over $1,000.00 to any vehicle or other property to report the accident to the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) within five (5) days by completing a Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Crash Operator Report Motor Vehicle Crash Operator Report (mass.gov). The accident must also be reported to the police department in the town or city in which the accident occurred within 5 days.
First and foremost, any injuries you suffered during the accident, no matter how minor, should be checked out by medical personnel on the scene. If it is recommended that you go to the hospital in an ambulance for further treatment, you should do so. However, if you are not taken to the hospital and are able to do so, you should take photographs of the accident scene including any property damage to your vehicle. If possible, you should take some notes about the cause of the accident and the circumstances surrounding it, including date, time, and weather conditions.
While you should be cooperative and respectful to all medical and law enforcement personnel on scene, you should remember that anything you say can be used against you with respect to a determination of fault and potential criminal charges. It is recommended that you do not make any statements to law enforcement personnel on the scene.
Whether you went to the hospital or not, you should contact your doctor or a doctor as soon as possible, to schedule an appointment and get looked at for your injuries. You should then complete any suggested follow-up care and treatment. It is recommended that you take pictures of your injuries as soon as possible and continue to document them with photographs throughout your recovery.
While seeking medical treatment for your injuries is most important, you will need to notify your auto insurance of the accident. However, before making any statements to your insurance, the other driver’s insurance, or the police, you should meet with a Massachusetts personal injury lawyer to discuss your personal injury claim.
If you were involved in a car accident, motorcycle accident, or truck accident in Massachusetts and suffered injuries, as a result, contact Riccio Law today for a free case evaluation.
If you have been injured in a motor vehicle or car accident in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, contact Riccio Law today for a free consultation.
We serve clients throughout Massachusetts including those in the following localities: Bristol County including Attleboro, Fall River, Mansfield, New Bedford, North Attleboro, Seekonk, Somerset, Swansea, and Taunton; Barnstable County; Cape & Islands; Greater Boston; Norfolk County including Dedham, Quincy, and Wrentham; Plymouth County including Bridgewater, Brockton, Hingham, and Plymouth; Southeastern Massachusetts; Suffolk County including Boston; and Worcester County.